And the Winner Is…

I don’t know how I missed it! I wait for this moment and guide my reading by the Man Booker Prize 2009 Short List hoping to read them all before the winner is revealed. Announced on September 8th, these six books were selected from the longlist of thirteen titles. Here we go:

A S Byatt for The Children’s Book

J M Coetzee for Summertime

Adam Foulds for The Quickening Maze

Hilary Mantel for Wolf Hall

Simon Mawer for The Glass Room

Sarah Waters for The Little Stranger

Having won in 1999 with Disgrace and in 1983 with Life & Times of Michael K, J M Coetzee will be going for a triple crown victory, the first in Booker Prize history! How can anyone think literature is boring!?!

If you are interested in the other potential contenders, click on this Longlist. The winners will be announced on October 6th and I am way behind! I welcome any comments or recommendations you might have on any of these candidates.

If you are unfamiliar with the Man Booker Prize, it was created to promote “… the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year.  The prize is the world’s most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and even publishers…the prize, which celebrated its 40th anniversary last year, aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.” For more info see The Man Booker site.

NLR post by   Megan Shaffer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s