Michigan Represents at National Book Awards

On Wednesday the National Book Foundation will announce the 2009 winners of the National Book Award at a celebration in New York. According to the site, “The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of good writing in America.”

With an impressive showing, two Michigan authors will be on hand this year to “represent” with Bonnie Jo Campbell’s short story collection American Salvage and graphic artist and novelist David Small’s Stitches. Both were shortlisted for this year’s award. Making the nonfiction list and also pertaining to our fine state is author Greg Grandin’s Fordlandia, the fascinating account of Henry Ford’s attempt of establishing a “rubber kingdom” in Brazil.

In its fourth year, one of the biggie events is the “5 Under 35” which “…is a celebration of emerging talent and the perfect way to kick off National Book Awards Week,” as stated by Harold Augenbraum, the executive director of the foundation.

Stay tuned and best of luck to our Michigan authors as we continue to prove ourselves as a state of fine culture and talent!

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s