Let the Great World Spin

The National Book Foundation announced the winners of the prestigious National Book Award at a celebration in New York last night. The winners of the evening include the following:

Young People’s Literature:  Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose

Poetry:  Transcendental Studies:  A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop

Nonfiction:  The First Tycoon:  The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T.J. Stiles

Fiction:  Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann

Best of 60 years of National Book Award winners:  The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor (decided by vote on the web from over 10,000 responses)

For related articles and details, try these links:

The Huffington Post

Publishers Weekly

The New York Times

Detroit News

And for the lit junkies, coverage of the ceremony will be aired this Saturday at 8:00pm EST and Sunday at 10am EST on Book TV on C-SPAN .

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s