‘Wolf Hall’ Snags Another Award from NBCC

The National Book Critics Circle announced their annual literary award winners at the The New School’s Tishman auditorium last night. The awards were given out in several categories for the 2009 publishing year. According to the NBCC site, the Critics Circle  includes “…more than 600 active book reviewers who are interested in honoring quality writing and communicating with one another about common concerns.” The list of winners follows:

Fiction:  Hilary Mantel for Wolf Hall (also winner of the Man Booker Prize)

**Michigan’s Bonnie Jo Campbell was nominated for American Salvage

Nonfiction:  Richard Holmes for The Age of Wonder:  How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science

Autobiography: Diana Athill for Somewhere Towards the End (also won the Costa Award for Biography)

Biography:  Blake Bailey for Cheever:  A Life

Criticism:  Eula Biss for Notes from No Man’s Land:  American Essays

Poetry:  Rae Armantrout for Versed

Lifetime Achievement Award:  Joyce Carol Oates

*Support your local bookstores, libraries, and universities. It matters!

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Related Links

New York Times Arts Beat

NBCC’s Critical Mass Blog Announcement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s