National Book Foundation Announces ‘Innovations’ Winners

Today the National Book Foundation announced the winners of their 2010 Innovations in Reading Prize. Receiving monetary awards of up to $2,500 each, the recipients are recognized for their contributions in encouraging, creating and sustaining a lifelong love of reading. Only the second year in the Foundation’s offering of the Prize, some 150 applications were submitted representing all regions of the country.* The grant for this program was sponsored by the Ford Foundation. Thanks Edsel.

Though you can get a briefing of each of the five winning individuals or institutions on the Foundation’s site, I am providing the winner’s links below. For all Innovations in Reading Prize information and application information, you can link here where you will find it in pdf form.

I highly suggest taking a look at this year’s recipients; a little literature goes a long way!

2010 Innovations in Reading Prize Winners


826 Valencia

Free Minds Book Club & Writing Workshop

United Through Reading

Mount Olive Baptist Church (see NBF site – no link available)

Support your local bookstores, libraries, and universities. It matters!

(*information pulled directly from The National Book Foundation site)

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s