Hamilton’s ‘The Lock Artist’ Lands Alex Award

As most of you know, the Newbery and Caldecott Medals were announced this past week. The American Library Association honored Clare Vanderpool with the Newbery for her first novel Moon Over Manifest, while Philip and Erin Stead (who live in Ann Arbor) took the Caldecott for  their picture book A Sick Day For Amos McGee. Though the biggies snatch the limelight, there’s actually another very cool award bestowed by teen readers that snagged another Michigan author for this year’s list.

Having only become an official ALA award in 2002, the Alex Award is a bit obscure and still quite young. This Award is given to ten chosen books that are written for adults but draw on the 12 to 18 year-old crowd. And, among this year’s selections is Michigan author Steve Hamilton’s The Lock Artist.

Steve Hamilton was born and raised in Detroit and is a graduate of the University of Michigan. Hamilton is well known for his Alex McKnight series, particularly A Cold Day in Paradise which won both an Edgar and Shamus Award. If you want a little more on the Alex Award winner and The Lock Artist, try this Q&A with author Steve Hamilton.

*Support your local bookstores, libraries, and universities. It matters.

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s